Update

Thank you so much for all the well-wishes I’ve received, both publicly and privately. I very much appreciate it.

Okay, stitching first and then I’ll talk about what’s going on medically for those who are interested. I’ve got a lot of picture updates that I have to do, and will hopefully get those listed later today.

I received some beautiful patterns from Deb’s giveaway. As soon as I can stitch again, I’m going to start right in on one. Thank you so much, Deb. I LOVE them!

I also received exchange squares from my Fair and Square partner, Lynda A. She did them in Vikki Clayton silks, a variegated blue and purple color shift that is just perfect for me. My two favorite colors! Thanks so much and I will get pictures posted. I swear.

Now, for the rest of it.

Waffles update!

Waffles is as recovered as he’s going to get, medically, and I think he’s doing much better than anyone expected. He doesn’t close his jaw. He can, but I think he just doesn’t prefer it. So he walks around a little slack-jawed, which fits him since the car accident has left him, let’s face it, a little retarded. He’s an absolute sweetheart personality-wise (we couldn’t have done better on that front if we’d tried), moves his back legs easily now, uses the litter box consistently and eats solid food, so I can deal with all his other little peculiarities.

He has staked out the laundry room for his own, despite all our efforts to install him in either the living room or the office, where we can give him a little more daily attention (after all, who wants to just hang around in the laundry room all day?). But he doesn’t like it out here in the open. I guess there’s too many things for a blind cat can bump into. So, to make it easy for him, we put his own litter box and food and water troughs where he can get at them, and a baby gate across the basement stairs so he won’t fall down them…again.

Anyone who has cats probably knows how they are with empty boxes. Well, for a while there I had a short stack of empty boxes at the top of the stairs, waiting to be shifted down into the basement. Along comes poor blind Waffles, who bumped into one, identified it as being empty, and decided he could not live another day without spending some time hiding in that box. What he didn’t know was this particular box was hanging half on and half off the top stair. The end result was a fast and bumpy ride straight to the bottom where the box flipped end over end and poor Waffles was neatly deposited right into the sump pump well. Fortunately, Michael was in the basement at the time and quickly fished him out again.

Waffles was not amused. He’s also holding Michael completely responsible for the entire unpleasant event and won’t let the poor man anywhere near him.

Okay, and now me. The doctor called to say my x-rays came back and he has diagnosed me with arthritis. Now, I’ve had arthritis in my hands for twenty years, but I’ve never felt anything like this and I don’t know why it’s come on all of a sudden. For the last five weeks I’ve had ice picks jabbing up into my head with every movement, causing horrendous headaches that crawl up the back of my neck, into my skull, moving laterally through it until all I can feel is a mouthful of displaced pain, throbbing in each and every one of my teeth. A hot pad has been the best thing to help me sleep, but the medications he gave me can’t be taken with painkillers of any kind (up until now, I’ve been popping aspirin like Pez candies just so I could see straight). I go back on the 18th, and will be pushing for a CT scan or MRI to tell if the discs in my neck have herniated.

6 Responses to Update

  1. KarenV says:

    Glad that Waffles is doing OK πŸ™‚ I know I probably shouldn’t have laughed, but the story of him sliding down the basement stairs in the box was quite funny πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you got a diagnosis, but sorry that you’re still in so much pain. I hope you get some relief very soon.

  2. Brigitte says:

    Sorry to hear that you are in such a lot of pain. I have never had arthritis but my friend has and so I know how painful it must be. I hope the doctors will soon find a treatment that will help you.

  3. Valerie says:

    Sorry to hear you are feeling unwell. I hope the doctors are able to help you with the arthritis and you feel better soon! I’m happy to hear that Waffles is adjusting.

  4. Tammy says:

    Poor little Waffles—-and poor you!! I hope you get your pain worked out soon, and I know too well how being in pain can just affect your life in awful ways. Take care of yourself!

  5. Jen says:

    Glad to see that Waffles is as good as he can be. Sorry to hear that you are in a lot of pain. I hope the doctors get you sorted out soon.

  6. Petra says:

    Sorry about Waffles, but glad to hear he’s calm and happy (in the laundry room!)
    I hope you feel better soon. I’m heading towards 40 and have a little ache in the morning here and there, it’s a little nerve wracking and I look at younger people now with a different point of view. Hmpph!
    Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

