From my bed of pain…

Once upon a time (oh, about 14 years ago), in a land far, far away (Arkansas), a lovely young woman was driving home from work. Because she was driving home to her handsome Prince Charming, naturally, she was doing all that driving off into the sunset. Which isn’t anywhere near as glamorous as it sounds, since anyone who has ever driving into the sunset knows, that sun is bright, below the visor, and you generally can’t see a darn thing on the the road (is there really even a road out there?) ahead of you.

Anyway, as she came to the road upon which her “castle” (read one-bedroom duplex, right next door to a crazy lady and her sixteen cats), she stopped to make the turn, waiting for traffic to pass and rolling down the carriage window in an effort to see something, anything out ahead of her (like more oncoming traffic headed for her at 40 mph and completely obscured by the brilliance of that blasted sun). When suddenly, the cacophony of screeching brakes behind her alerted her to the fact that she was about to be in an accident.

Flooring the gas pedal in a frantic effort to avoid the unavoidable, our lucky young heroine was fortunate enough to turn what could have been a really bad accident into a minor fender bender. Unfortunately, she also landed herself a really, really bad case of whiplash.

Now, flash forward 14 years….still married to Prince Charming, but no longer in Arkansas (or that duplex, thank the Maker), and the effects of that minor accident are still being felt. After spending that last week in so much pain that I couldn’t move, sleep, lie down, stand up, sit, work at the computer, work at cross stitch, wash dishes, do laundry, anything at all, I finally broke down and called the doctor. My appointment was this morning, and ended in my receiving a fistful of prescriptions, a bunch of x-rays, and enough painkillers that I finally got to sleep for about four hours, which is more than I’ve been able to do since last Friday.

I won’t know the results of the x-rays until next month. Hopefully, he’ll find something wrong with me that can be fixed.

10 Responses to From my bed of pain…

  1. KarenV says:

    Ouch! I hope whatever it is, is treatable and you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Margaret says:

    Oh my goodness Maren – that’s just not fair. Hopefully the x-rays will lead the doctors to finding exactly what is wrong and finding a good solution.

    So glad ‘The Red Witch’ brought a smile to your face on a bad day.

    Take care and get well.

  3. Valerie says:

    Oh no, how awful! Sorry to hear you are feeling so poorly. Hopefully the doctors can give you some answers and it’s easily treatable. Be sure to relax and get lots of rest!

  4. Tammy says:

    Man! Neck/back problems can really come back to haunt you-if they ever go away in the first place that is. Feel better soon.

  5. Carla says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling well. Take care.

  6. Dear Maren, I just hate to hear this about you! I’ve suffered from the same things since 36 yrs. ago when my tailbone was broken in delivering my first baby! The doctor actually thought I snapped more than just my tailbone. It’s plagued me on and off for years…and I sometimes have the pain worse than other times. Those pills really do help to get the inflamation down, and once you do that, it’s easier to have the discs and muscles get back to normal. I’m wishing you a slow and restful time…with lots of massages from somebody who really knows how. You can get a script for this from your doc, too!! :]
    Hugs, Deb

  7. Colleen says:

    Oh, man…I feel your pain…literally!! Same thing happened to me three years ago but mine was a T-bone on the driver’s side, totaling my brand new car (8,000 miles on it :(). The lady that hit me told the police she was only going 35 MPH. She received a broken ankle and I had an airbag burn on my wrist and whiplashed neck from the seat belt!! But Thank God I was wearing my seat belt! If she would have hit me 6″ closer to my door I wouldn’t be here. But hey…she was only going 35 MPH! HA!!

    Hope nothing is seriously wrong but that pain can be awful, I know!

  8. Tammy says:

    that’s awful hope you feel better soon!!

  9. Cindy F. says:

    Oh no!! Hope the dr. can help you…and very soon too!
    Sending you (((hugs)))!!!

  10. I am so sorry to hear that you are in such bad pain, Maren. I hope the doctor figures out what is wrong with you and you feel better soon.
    Hugs,
    Olga

Leave a Reply

