Mary Wigham

Well, I’ve been sucked into it. I did my best, valiantly fighting the near-gravitational pull of this beautiful Quaker until Olga came along, bless her heart, and quite cheerful pried my fingers from my last desperate hold on resisting temptation. “Nooooo!” I cried, but off I went anyway, flying headfirst into the heart of yet another beautiful project, as if I don’t have enough of them started already. (Is that even possible? To have too many WIPs?) And, as if that weren’t enough, she then emailed to let me know about a USA version of the European SAL. I made it onto the Mary Wigham USA SAL, but only just. I was, quite literally, the last one admitted and then it was full.

So, now I have to run around, gathering threads and finding that perfect fabric. All I really know is that I want to do it on black cloth with bright, bright cheerful colors: white, yellow, pale blue, hot pink, leaf green. I’m planning a trip to Silver Needle in Tulsa tomorrow, I think, and I’m going to match cloth to threads and see what looks good.

Unfortunately, this is the one part of cross stitching in which I’m severely handicapped. Believe it or not, I can’t see colors or patterns in my head. Most of the time, I figure I’m doing good if I leave the house dressed in something that doesn’t clash so badly that people actually stop and stare. It might very well be that once I get to the store and actually lay threads to fabric, that I wind up scraping the whole maverick idea of dark fabric and just do white fabric with traditional colors. We’ll just have to see. You know, I’ve always wanted to work with satin threads. Maybe this is the project…

Oh, and it’s that time of month again. July goals:

1.) 3 motifs on the BP quaker.

2.) 10 motifs on MW. ๐Ÿ™‚ I gotta get caught up to everyone else.

3.) I want to finish the stitch work on Mirabilia’s Christmas Flourishes.

4.) and lastly, I want to get back on course with my schoolwork. I can’t finish this month, but I want to do a refresher read through of Courses 1-4 (approximately 50 chapters), and next month be back on track with the last and final Course 5.

6 Responses to Mary Wigham

  1. Jen says:

    Welcome to the World Wide Wigham Club! Looking forward to seeing your progress. Don’t do what I did though, see my post Mary, Mary very scary. You can actually get to the Silver Needle? All I can do is drool at their website. Happy shopping, whats the betting you come back with more than you bargained for?

  2. Tammy says:

    Good luck and I can’t wait to see the progress!

  3. jennifer says:

    Mary Wigham looks really pretty! I can’t wait to see your progress on it. One can never have too many WIPs after all ๐Ÿ˜€ Have fun at the Silver Needle! There is so much to look at there.

  4. Sue says:

    Have fun with the Mayry Wigham SAL, that design is so pretty. I’m looking forward to seeing what colors you pick. Like you I’m very color combination challenged. However, if you have a chance to get to the shop I’m sure they’ll help you pick a wonderful combination. Loved your new stash in your earlier post. The Pirates Creed is one I’ve been looking at doing for my DD, she’d get such a kick out of the design and having it.

  5. Siobhan says:

    I can’t wait to see what fabric & fibers you come up with!!

  6. Annemarie says:

    AH. You too. I was foolish enough to participate and now I find these motifs an awful lot of work. I can’t wait to see your start and progress, though!

Leave a Reply

