New Stash

Just what I was needin’: More Stash! Ah yes, but don’t we all? My scanner isn’t yet up and running (I think I’ve lost the cable in the move), so pardon the pilfered pictures.

Housework Never Killed Anyone. My first Lizzie Kate, but definitely not my last since I’ve had my eye on the Boo flip it collection.

housework never killed

Pirate’s Creed by Post Stitches

moral improves

Sleepy Hollow by The Cricket Collection and Vicki Hastings

sleepy hollow

My fourth pattern I ordered via a money order snail mail. Sadly, I guess she wasn’t set up for automatic payments, so it may be a while before I get that pattern.

The weather here has been hideously hot. My mother in Oregon has been keeping track of it (she does so miss us) and said it’s been steadily twenty degrees cooler in Oregon than Kansas. I said, “Mom, Hell is twenty degrees cooler than Kansas.”

Even the snakes think so. I went downstairs into the basement to feed the spiders and made my cursory check of the sump pump. Toads like to crawl in through the pipe and swim around in there–I guess we’re built on a natural spring because that hole never runs dry; we’d be in water up to our door knobs within the hour if the pump ever shut off). Unfortunately, it wasn’t toads in the sump pump hole. It was the biggest flippin’ snake I’ve ever seen in my life. That monster could not have been native to Kansas. I don’t know what that was, but it was H-U-G-E!!!

I screamed.

I also ran upstairs and called Michael’s work, crying to please send him home it was an emergency. Within ten minutes, the gravel in front of the house went flying as he tore right up to the front porch steps, came bounding inside, all sweaty and concerned and said, “What happened?”

“Snake!” Imagine me standing at the stairs with windmilling arms all pointing fervently down at the basement. “AHHHH!” I added for emphasis.

He was not amused.

But he did remove the snake and cart it back outside. He will not, however, let me dam up the sump pump pipe.

“It’ll just get back in here,” I said.

“We’ll be under four feet of water,” he said.

Great. We’ll turn the basement into a swimming pool. It’s hot outside, anyway.

5 Responses to New Stash

  1. Nancy says:

    I like your Lizzie Kate design! That looks like such a fun stitch.

    Oh my gosh I would have fainted if I saw a snake in our house!

  2. Mylene says:

    I love that design too. Looking forward to see your progress with it.

    The snake…that sounds scary!

  3. Cindy F. says:

    OH MY GOSH!!! I would freaking pass out! OK, I’d rather have our scorpions than your snake!! Thank goodness dh came home….lol…I know I would have called mine too!

    Love your comment about hell being cooler than Kansas!! Too funny! Hey, we’ve been between 102 and 108 this past week!

    Stay cool and I hope that snake never shows back up!

  4. Cindy F. says:

    …oh….I was so engrossed in your freaky snake story, I forgot….LOVE your new stash!!…lol….

  5. Valerie says:

    Love that Sleepy Hollow chart. It’s languishing on my wishlist…waiting for me to break down and buy it! LOL

    I can’t believe your snake story. I got caught up on your “feeding the spiders” (ewww!) comment to only be further horrified about the snake. I’d have run screaming down the block!

    It kind of reminds me of the time my friend and I came across wolf spiders in the condo we were staying in. We ran to the next door neighbor and begged that he come to kill the spiders. Yea, I don;t like spiders…or snakes. *shudder*

Leave a Reply

