First Steps to Recovery…

So, I grabbed my car keys and announced that I was going to Walmart for sundae making materials and Cheetos and did anyone a.) want anything or b.) want to come. My husband Michael came out of the computer room, hands in his pockets and said, “This have anything to do with the missing stitching?”

Absolutely. I only ever go for Cheetos and sundaes when I’m in a funk, and then the wonderful dear surprised me.

He said, “There’s a Hobby Lobby in Bartlesville. Why don’t you grab some patterns and we’ll go kit them up instead.”

Dude. He is such a keeper.

So, showing remarkable restraint, I grabbed three designs off my to-do pile and skipped out the door. He not only gave me his wallet, HE CAME WITH ME!!! Ya’ll, my husband is a hermit. Getting this man out the door for a movie or for dinner on our anniversary is like prying a muscle from a konk shell. In fact, I’ve cooked our last six anniversary celebratory meals, because I couldn’t get him out of the house. Before that, I’d go out with a friend and bring him back a doggy bag!

Last night, he not only came with me, but he drove 35 miles out of town to Bartlesville, Oklahoma, making two pitstops along the way (one to get a picture of a life sized Utah Raptor and the other to walk through the Zoo Safari in Dewey–both at my behest because, yes, I am just that nerdy). I thought I was handling my disappointment pretty well, but I guess I must have been being a right pain since he didn’t even sit in the car. He came in for both the zoo and the Hobby Lobby, and I am now kitted up to start:

morning gossip
Morning Gossip by HAED and Kirsten Mills

skeleton crew
Skeleton Crew by The Cricket Collection and Vicki Hastings

rose garden
Trellis by Leisure Arts and Paula Vaughan

I’m going to start the trellis tonight, since it looks like a quick stitch and I’m really in the mood for that.

13 Responses to First Steps to Recovery…

  1. Suzanne says:

    Your husband really is a keeper! I love all the designs you purchased.

  2. Vonna says:

    Well that’s great…I wish my husband would say that to me 😉
    Can’t wait to see your Paula Vaughan…I have just about every pattern every released by Leisure Arts that is by her….

  3. What a nice hubby! I read your previous post and how sad and horrifying that you lost your projects to mildew! I feel for you… Would you consider restarting any of them? (and what a hoot that you go out to eat and bring back a doggy bag for him)

    • stitcherydoo says:

      Yes, I will do Celtic Christmas again, but it’s going to be awhile since I’ll need to buy the pattern again. I probably won’t redo the bouquet of roses. To be honest, I don’t know why I started that one in the first place. But my mother-in-law gave me a bunch of her old cross stitch stuff, and there’s a duplicate of that Leisure Arts chart in the bunch, so I’m doing the Trellis instead.

      Sadly, I’d love to do Morning Coffee again, but I doubt I’ll ever find an honest copy of that Randal Spangler pattern. It was the cutest little dragon drinking a cup of coffee. It was the first pattern I ever bought off of eBay and I didn’t know I was buying a copyright violation via a computer generated pattern maker. I don’t condone that, so–if you’ll pardon the pun–I’m going to let that sleepy dragon lie.

  4. valerie says:

    That was very nice of your hubby to take you shopping. I am *so* sorry to hear you lost some really precious wip’s. So sad! Glad the move went well. 🙂

  5. Chiloe says:

    Thanks for stopping by. I really need to add your blog to my google reader because I love it 😉

    Here is the squirrel by Lanarte: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200353004516&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:1123

  6. KarenV says:

    What a sweet thing for your DH to do! Have fun with your new projects!

  7. Christine says:

    Thanks for your wishes and your visit on my blog.

    I’m happy you could have 3 designs kitted. Your husband has been very nice !

  8. Brigitte says:

    Your husband is a real sweetie. What a great way to make up a little bit for the missing stitching. You chose three great charts. Enjoy starting them!

  9. Kathy says:

    Nice recovery. Your husband sounds like every woman’s dream. Great new projects. Love Cheetos too. I learned they are great when put in the freezer. Now I have trouble eating them any other way.

  10. jennifer says:

    Aw, your husband is a sweetie! And those charts are awesome! I really love Skeleton Crew.

  11. Lili says:

    Hi Maren!
    I’ve just read your kind and funny comment on my blog. I think it won’t take much time before Euston understands he doesn’t rule the house. We have three and Phoebe (marmalade cat) and Luna (grey) have been quite clear already. Pumpkin, the black and white kitty is just too kind to be true…
    I’m thrilled to discover your blog and you’re definitely bookmarked. I love reading what you write, and your wips are a pleasure for the eyes… You make me dream…
    I’m so sorry about your lost stitching. Losing Celtic Christmas must be definitely heartbreaking…
    And I’m very happy that your DH understands your passion and is trying to make up for the loss. He deserves a special hug and a diploma, I think. Lol!
    Hugs!
    Lili

  12. Michele says:

    wow you’re DH is definately a keeper! how cool that he knew what you were going through and wanted to help you work through it! three cheers for him!!!!

Leave a Reply

