Totally Depressed

My last year in Oregon, I was living with my sisters about 65 miles north of my storage unit, so I had no idea that part of it had flooded through the back until I went to clean it out. Roughly four or five boxes had sat, mildewing through and through, for the better part of two years. I went all the way through the first couple of boxes, trying to see if anything could be salvaged; I saw nothing but clothes. Everything was speckled all the way through with black and smelled horrible. In the end, if I opened a box and saw mold on the top, I threw it out. It wasn’t until I was in the U-haul that I got to thinking about some of the cross stitching stuff I hadn’t found during my repacking process.

Well, now it’s official. I unpacked my last box this morning. Celtic Christmas, Morning Coffee, and Rose Garden are gone, cloth, threads, patterns and all. To be perfectly honest, I’m not too heartbroken over Morning Coffee or Rose Garden. But I’m really kinda tore up about Celtic Christmas. I had the girl mostly done and the beading all down one side of the arch halfway finished. I was INTO that project.

I keep telling myself it wouldn’t have mattered even if I hadn’t thrown it out. They still would have been molded beyond my ability to save. Still…

I think I need to pull out all stops to recover from this. Tonight is going to be a Cheetos night, liberally augmented with at least one hot fudge sundae and a really hokey horror movie on the DVD player. Something kinda good, but kinda awful. Like Deep rising, or She-Creature.

Do they even have marachino cherries in Kansas?

11 Responses to Totally Depressed

  1. erica says:

    I am so sorry!
    That is awful! I know just what you are going through!
    I lost an entire quilt collection once from flooding!’
    It is easy to second guess yourself, but you really can;t do anything with that mold! Nothing gets out the stains or the odor!

  2. Suzanne says:

    I am so sorry to hear that your cross stitch was lost. I had a mouldy cupboard where we rented and some of my tablecloths were covered in mould. I was only able to recover them because they were white and I was able to soak them in bleach for a week.

    If you ever decide to stitch any of the designs again, I am more than willing to help put some stitches into them for you.

  3. Mylene says:

    I am very sorry to hear of the pieces you had lost.

  4. KarenV says:

    I’m sorry about your stitching, that’s a shame.

  5. Karen says:

    Oh no! That’s just awful. I’m so sorry. I can just imagine how you feel. I agree that you are entitled to a night of Cheesey-Poofs, ice cream, and B movies. I would probably have to drown my sorrows with about a dozen cocktail franks, too.

  6. Redwitch says:

    Nightmare! Really sorry to hear you’ve lost some stitching, that’s horrible 😦

    Your night in to make up sounds great 🙂

  7. Kathy says:

    That is just awful. So sorry to hear of having to throw away so much. Have had a similar problem with wet and molded stuff, but luckily it was not stitching stuff. It was close, but did not get to the stitching stuff.

    As far as I know they have marachino cherries in Kansas. I have bought them for making things, but I don’t really like them so don’t look for them unless a recipe calls for thme.

  8. jennifer says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your cross stitch. That’s awful!

  9. Petra says:

    I’m so sorry about your stitching, that’s so sad about the moldy boxes and loss of some great finishes…
    I think it warrants 2 Sundaes! Great husband to go with you though. Are there any LNS’s where you now are?

    • stitcherydoo says:

      I keep looking. We drove six hours yesterday, all the way across Kansas to Hays where there was a big, huge billboard touting a quilt and cross stitch shop. I figured, hey, if there’s a billboard, it’s got to be pretty darn awesome! Well, it is an awesome shop for quilters. But there wasn’t a whole lot for cross stitchers.

      I believe there’s one in Tulsa, Oklahoma, about 90 miles away. So I’m going to try that one next.

  10. Michele says:

    ouch .. I’m really sorry about your losses! CC is on my want to do before I die list .. I would have been heartbroken too 😦

Leave a Reply

