May Goals

Well, I didn’t do as well on my April goals as I did my May, but then I’m moving, so I can get away with all kinds of slacking off right now.

April’s Goals were:
1.) Finish the first page of the Hawaiian Mandala except for the beading. **Not even close.**
2.) Finish Dust Bunnies. **Yes!**
3.) Start next oldest project from my stash. **Well, I looked at it. Does that count?**
4.) Continue stitching on Cirque des Cercles. **Yes.**
5.) Continue stitching on Christmas Flourishes. **Yes.**
6.) Finish at least 3 patterns on the Beatrix Potter Quaker. **Only got two done.**
7.) Finish learning the stitches necessary to start knitting my beaded scarf. **Nope. But I think I’m halfway there.**

May’s goals are much simpler and more likely to be attained:

1.) Stitch on something, anything. Maybe finish Cirque des Circles.

2.) Get moved.

3.) Complete my Fair and Square Round #13.

I pick up the U-haul on the 30th. We’re slated to be on the road on the 31st. I’ve got to get this house fully into boxes by the 28th, when the hubby flies in to start dismantling the big stuff. The computers will go offline on the 29th. With any luck, I’ll be back and much more attentive to my blog as well as others by the 6th of June, when I will be in my new house in Kansas. Yay!

Until then, here is my progress on my orts jar for Yoko’s Totally Useless SAL, which sadly has seen no attention for nearly a week. And which probably won’t for most of May.

orts-jar-april-update

I fell completely off the bandwagon with my rotation, but I’m determined not to feel stressed about it. I’ve got plenty of other things to worry about at this time. 🙂

And last but not least, a Road Rash update. The hubby didn’t like that name, so he has been renamed to Waffles (as in, road waffles–what the difference is, I don’t know, but there you go). Waffles is up to eating 2 cans of pureed cat food mixed with kitten replacement milk per day. He is starting to pack on the weight he lost when he couldn’t move his jaw well enough to want to eat. He has also started to clean himself, so we’ve kicked our baths back to every 4 days or so. The right eye has some sight, we think he can see light and shadow contrasts. He can’t find his food, you have to guide his head to it, but he can seem to track us if we move past a bright light or window. The other eye has turned grey, sunken in and will likely fall out. He’s using a litter box 100% of the time, but still not moving around if he doesn’t have to. Although he will come up to the kennel door at supper time, bobbing his head and huffing as he searches for the food dish.

5 Responses to May Goals

  1. Siobhan says:

    So glad to hear that Waffles is doing well! 🙂 I say, do whatever works as far as the rotation goes. Life has enough stress–your hobbies should be fun. Good luck with your May goals!

  2. Tammy says:

    Poor Waffles! Your list looks pretty good to me!

  3. Glad Waffles is recovering well. We had a totally blind dog once and he did just fine, so I wouldn’t worry too much if all of his sight doesn’t come back. And we do notice how stressed you are…re-read the first sentence of this post, I just cracked up! Your Totally Useless Container looks great to me, some times we just can add to it every single day, that’s life.

  4. Jen says:

    Hi Maren, Good luck with the move. I hope everything goes smoothly. Maybe you should buy the new house a stitchy house warming prezzie! Glad to see Waffles is on the mend.

  5. Brigitte says:

    Having a move ahead is a big deal of work. I wish you good luck with the move and a happy settling down in the new house.

Leave a Reply

