Exchange Received!

I was horribly remiss in my duties as a Fair and Square recipient and didn’t go to the post office for a few days. But when I went last night, just look at what was waiting there for me:

jill-f-fs-exchange

This was sent to me by Jill F, who was my partner in the Fair and Square #12 exchange. I love it! Thank you so much, Jill. It’s just too cute!

I also have my first April Finish to report. Yay! My dust bunnies are done. They turned out pretty well, too, I must say. ๐Ÿ™‚

dust-bunnies-4

So you know what this means! I get to start a new project! Woo hoo! I’ve already got it picked out. It’s going to be the Victorian Garden Rug from Stitcher’s World Magazine.

victorian-garden

I’ve already got it kitted up, the fabric cut and the first stitches started. Although my first stitches aren’t in the design, but in cobbling the aida together to give me a piece that’s 48″x48″. I’ve never had to cobble fabric together before, in fact I never would have thought it could be done, but the directions on this rug say clearly to use either a whole piece or sections. Yet, it doesn’t say if you do it in sections, how to stitch it together to get the whole rug when you’re done. This leaves me in two minds on the matter. Either it’s so very simply that the creators of the magazine thought no one who can ready (much less read their magazine) could possibly need to be told the obvious, or (and this is more likely) they didn’t know how to do it either.

Nevertheless, after giving the matter much thought, I settled in to do what seemed to me the obvious thing. I’m using aida cloth, which gives me a very clear line to follow, and I’m very carefully overlapping two rows so I can stitch them together. Once I get the rug’s backing on, I doubt you’ll be able to see it, much less feel the overlap, so I think I’m safe in doing it this way. But if someone has a better idea, I’d very much like to know how it’s really supposed to be done. lol

That’s all I’ve got to report. May everyone’s weekend be chock full of frogless stitches. And don’t forget, if you’re looking to add to your stash I’ve still got 300+ patterns on my Sale or Trade page and everything’s $1 or less.

11 Responses to Exchange Received!

  1. Leah says:

    Your dust bunnies are too cute…congrats on finishing!!

  2. Siobhan says:

    Beautiful exchange! Love the finish, and your new project. I’ll enjoy watching your progress. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Tammy says:

    Looking through your sale/trade was like looking through my own stuff, lol. We have lots of the same things–especially the older things. Great minds! The exchange is so nice, and the dust bunnies are simply precious! I love ’em!

  4. Jen says:

    Love the dust bunnies. Look forward to the next start.

  5. Conny says:

    Love your exchange piece and your dust bunnies. They both look great.

  6. I JUST read your comment on my blog about un-decorating my house for Christmas. Yeah, it only took me 3 months to find your comment! And I totally agree, this need to decorate for Christmas comes from the idiot within, not the child within!!!

    Thank you!!!

    Kathy

  7. Cindy F. says:

    Beautiful F&S squares you’e received and I LOVE your dust bunnies! Too cute!
    Wow! What a gorgeous project you’re about to start!
    Can’t wait to see it started!

  8. Great squares and dust bunnies is just tooooo kewt!! Love their expressions, who whoulda thought bunnies could have expression? Looking forward to your next project.

  9. Judy says:

    Hi Maren,

    If dust bunnies were really that cute I wouldn’t
    mind the multiple herds of them that roam around
    my house at will and set up residential communities
    underneath my beds and couches.

    In any case, your Dust Bunnies finish is truly
    adorable, and probably allergy free as well. The
    white bunnies show up very nicely against the fabric
    colour that you used to stitch this. If I’d stitched
    this I’d have inevitably chosen a lighter fabric and
    blithely stitched the design, ending up with more or
    less invisible bunnies. It’s just my thing.

    Sorry, can’t help you with any tips on putting the
    Aida sections together to make one piece. If it’s
    any help at all I do agree that your choice of
    sewing the pieces together before stitching the
    design does sound the most logical to me. This is
    going to be an amazing project and gorgeous when it
    is done. Good luck with it.

    Your Fair and Square exchange squares from Jill are
    so cute. Love the little bunnies and the very
    pretty flowers.

    How is Roadie doing?? Loved the picture of him
    after he’d eaten (and bathed in, apparently) his
    dinner. You know, he looks like a pure bred some-
    thing or other, not your standard heinz 57 mixed
    breed. Anyways, tell him I send my continued best
    wishes for his recovery.

    Cheers!

  10. Brigitte says:

    What a nice F&S exchange your received from Jill. I love the two bunnies. And the Dust Bunnies that you finished, they are soooo cute.
    Good luck with your new project.

  11. Adorable dust Bunnies!
    I do not have any tip on how to sew two pieces of Aida but it will be interesting to see and to read about your experience on doing this. The new project is going to be very pretty. Good luck on it!

Leave a Reply

