Month of April Goals

Well, I didn’t do too badly with the March goals. I did everything but two. I’m not quite near to finished with Christmas Flourishes, but I might get there this month. And instead of starting Chatelaine’s Rose Lights, I started the Hawaiian Mandala instead. So, with that in mind, my goals for April are:

1.) Finish the first page of the Hawaiian Mandala except for the beading.
2.) Finish Dust Bunnies.
3.) Start next oldest project from my stash.
4.) Continue stitching on Cirque des Cercles.
5.) Continue stitching on Christmas Flourishes.
6.) Finish at least 3 patterns on the Beatrix Potter Quaker.
7.) Finish learning the stitches necessary to start knitting my beaded scarf.

Here are some updates of my current projects, and then we’ll do a Road Rash update.

The BP Quaker is coming right along. I am really enjoying stitching on this. Very relaxing.

bpquak4

And Dust Bunnies. I’m not sure exactly how many UFOs I need to remove from my stash before my sister will let me go shopping again (Isn’t it supposed to be the husband who restricts the size of one’s stash?), but every little bit helps. Besides, this is really cute. πŸ™‚

dust-bunnies-2

And as for Road Rash…

The pupils of his eyes are no longer tiny little pinpricks, but the right side is still messed up. I don’t know if he can see light and shadow or if it was coincidence, but when I carried him out of the back room Monday, he turned his head towards a sunlight-brightened window. Might be progress. Might be wishful thinking. It’s really too early to tell.

Today is his first day of painkillers being given every other day, so none for him this morning. He’s taking it pretty well, so long as no one tries to move or feed him. He won’t eat on his own, but he’s getting really fed up with that slurry syringe.

We’ve gone bad nurse/good nurse on him. I’m the good nurse. I hold and cuddle him while all the bad stuff happens, tell him he’s a good boy, and wipe him down with a warm, wet cloth when it’s all over. So long as we don’t touch his nose, he really likes that part; probably reminds him of mom.

Robin is the bad nurse. She wields the unending tide of foul-tasting medicine and slurry-filled syringes.

Someday vengeance will be his.

10 Responses to Month of April Goals

  1. KarenV says:

    Thanks for the update on Road Rash, hope he continues to improve.

    Your WIPs look lovely πŸ™‚

  2. Brigitte says:

    Your WIPs look very lovely. It’s the first time that I see Beatrix stitched in blue.

  3. Jen says:

    Hope Road Rash continues to get better. Thank goodness my cat seems to think there is a forcefield out side the front door and has never been able to climb fences! On your rotation do you do a different thing every day? I can just about manage a weekly rotation.

  4. Annemarie says:

    Poor Road Rash. And poor sister, being the bad nurse πŸ™‚
    I love your progress on Bea. You’re steaming right ahead!

  5. Vee says:

    You have made good progress with your projects and everything looks great!

    Good to hear Road Rash is getting better.

  6. Tammy says:

    Your progress is great–so pretty.

  7. Siobhan says:

    Great WIP pics! Your BPQ is particularly lovely.

    I’m glad to hear Road Rash is getting better–hope he continues to improve!

  8. Christine says:

    Hi Maren !
    Thanks for your visit on my blog and your kind comment.
    I really loved Les Miserables. Though it was in english, i knew the story very well and i was already a fan of ir.
    All was great : the singers, the music (live orchestra), the decoration and the lights. Almost 3 hours of fun !
    I ordered the dvd of the 10th birthday to have a souvenir.
    If you have the chance to see it, go !

  9. Sue says:

    Quaker is looking very pretty, and I love Dust Bunnies, I’ll enjoy watching it grow. Glad to hear that Road Rash is doing better. It is so hard to care for an injured animal, you’re trying to help but so many times they just don’t understand. Hopefully he continues to heal and do well. Animals do remarkably well with limitations, they just seem to take them in stide. One of my cats was probably hit by a car when he was younger which messed up his hip (he was a stray and hurt when we found him so we don’t know what happened) and at 11 he’s still doing quite well. My dog Jaz at 12 has arthritis, but with some modifications she’s doing very well too. Animals are amazing.
    Sue

  10. Cindy F. says:

    Pretty progress on your wips! Nice to hear Road Rash is on the road to recovery:)

Leave a Reply

