Busy, Busy Bees

We cleaned out my sister Robin’s van and drove sixty miles south to the town of my old residence with the incredibly ambitious intent of emptying out the storage building and bringing everything north to Scio so it’ll all be in one place when it comes time to actually move. That was yesterday. Today, all I have is one question: Where did I get all this crap?!? And why do I still have it?!?

Okay, so technically that’s two questions. Still, for whatever crazy reason, I have packed things no rational person every would have. For instance, I opened one box and among all the useful stuff found a half a bag of Halls cough drops, some loose thumb tacks (discovering that was such a treat, let me tell you), a penny, two wads of paper (something I’d printed off the computer and then crumpled up to throw away) a broken vacuum attachment to a vacuum I got rid of ten years ago (which means I’ve already packed that darn piece and moved with it TWICE before–this highly-prized, long-lost, 24-carat, broken vacuum attachment of antiquity) and an empty bottle of hydrogen peroxide.

I don’t think I was on drugs when I threw that box together, and yet the evidence doesn’t lie…

We packed that van to the gills (bet you didn’t know vans had them) and hauled it north to Scio, leaving behind a storage building you can now walk into almost comfortably, a stack of roughly nine boxes to go to the dump and six more destined for the Goodwill. We stacked everything in my sister Emily’s room, and then stood around feeling strange about it because this is the first time we’ve used that room for anything since she died in December. But it was either that or haul it all down into the basement, and we were all tired enough as it was. Six more loads just like that and we might get that storage unit emptied.

I then came back to Mom’s (where I’m staying while I unload the storage unit), with this hard lump of uncertainty in my gut that says I’m jumping the gun a bit. If the sale does not go through, then I’m going to have to cart all that stuff down into the basement so I can show the house again. Oy, my aching back! Think postive, Maren, think positive.

To make myself feel better, I decided to work on my wish list and noticed that Heaven and Earth Designs had a 25% off all patterns that ended at midnight this morning. Only a woman of steel will or poverty could pass up a sale like that, and I was neither! I went through every author’s patterns, selecting eight that I really liked. I then whittled those down to four and made my purchase with twenty minutes left to spare. This is what I got:

Blue by Jonathon Earl Bowser

Phoenix by Penny Golledge

Checkmate by Ruth Thompson

and

Morning Gossip by Kirstin Mills

I won’t be starting any of them until I get Christmas Flourishes finished, but I certainly do feel better! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Responses to Busy, Busy Bees

  1. Jen says:

    They do say that moving house is one of the most stressful things you can do. But think positive all that stuff you’ve not looked at for years will have been sorted and you’re only taking with you the stuff you really want. I know what you are going through. The other half is moving in with me, slowly, and we are going through boxes af stuff that have been packed from when he got divorced, over ten years ago, why he even kept some of the stuff in the first place, heaven only knows. So Maren I am with you in spirit. Retail Therapy is GOOD especially when it involves enhancing the stash!

  2. I are going through a lot of stressful stuff. It’s good we have our hobby to keep us sain. You’ve got a pretty stash, congrats! Love your WIPs, especially Celtic Christmas.
    Take care!
    Olga

  3. Wow, sorry, I meant to say ‘you are going…’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Siobhan says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    On the moving thing, truthfully I think that stuff multiplies at night, on its own. We moved twice in the last 5 years and both times threw out soooo much stuff. Still, we ended up with an attic full of things, and I know half of it is stuff that we don’t need/will toss. Argh. Enjoy the retail therapy–you deserve it!

    Love the WIPs!

  5. Tammy says:

    Your Mirabilia work is just breathtaking! Of course, your other stitching is wonderful too! And you’re right, it’s hard to resist needlework enough without it being on sale to boot! I’m right there with ya!

Leave a Reply

