Tis the Season

Well, it’s not the 19th, but it is done. πŸ™‚ I actually got this finished yesterday, but I just plain haven’t had the time to post or catch up on all the other marvelous blogs I so enjoy reading. Still, here is my completed Our Special Day.

completed-special-day

After fourteen years, we are now officially married. At least on my end. On his, he still has to get that china hutch and the china to put in it. Of course, having the house to both shelter that china and hutch, not to mention providing the wall upon which to hang Our Special Day, should probably be tacked onto that list somewhere. But really, at this point it makes no sense to fuss over the little details.

My dear husband has come and gone, and it was wonderful to see him again. He attacked the remodeling job on my sisters’ house like gangbusters! And the list was truly massive.

In three days, he repaired the leaky shower, replaced the rotted out sheetrock in the room right beneath said leak (and textured it so well no one can tell where that 4’x3′ hole was), replaced a cracked toilet, fixed leaks in both bathroom sinks, completely sheetrocked the small upstairs bathroom (including mudding, sanding and mudding again), installed two light fixtures, knocked out the old, broken back door (which was cemented in, for crying out loud) and hung a new one, repaired various holes in various walls where the ex-handyman alternately punched and hung computer speakers, and re-attached four drain spouts which had been pulled down.

Now, all that makes this big, old house sound run down, but it really isn’t. Almost all of these issues were a result of the ‘handyman’ boyfriend one of my sisters–in a misguided attempt at finding personal happiness–brought home with her about two years ago. Now an ex-boyfriend (who has safely ensconced himself in the wilds of Illinois where, fortunately for him, my DH can’t get at him), he was a true weekend warrior but congenitally incapable of finishing any of the projects he started.

For instance, when he decided to remodel the upper bathroom, he knocked out sections of the sheetrock to hang insulation and then stopped. Apparently, the job was finished. He also took the drain spouts down when he ‘remodeled’ the middle bathroom–knocking out the old window and installing the new one–without ever rehanging the siding outside, which was why he took the drain spouts down to begin with. Why he had to taken all four down to do this, heaven only knows.

Anyway, my dear hubby spent a long weekend stalking from room to room, muttering under his breath, “Just one punch. That’s all I need. Just one. I ought to send that @*$#& a bill. That’s exactly what I’m going to do. I’m going to send that @*$#& a bill.”

I love that man. He finished all those repairs, and he did it all with a raging cold. Which he promptly passed to me. I’m three days gone now and miserable, but I think I’ve turned the corner.

As for my sisters, I have sat them both down and firmly schooled them on what to look for in a man. No more handymen; we’ve got two construction workers and an electrician in the family already anyway. Therefore, Laura has been assigned to hunt herself down a plumber and/or auto mechanic and Robin a computer repair/tech support person. That should keep us all in the pink for years to come!

Anyway, that’s what’s going on in my little corner of the world. I’m off now to spend the night cooking curry and catching up on what my favorite bloggers have been up to.

Cheers!

7 Responses to Tis the Season

  1. Jen says:

    Hi Maren, Our Special Day looks great. Well done on your finish. I’m looking forward to see what you do next.

  2. Vonna says:

    Very lovely finish πŸ™‚
    It is gorgeous!

    Hope that the sisters fall into line hunting down the men you listed for them πŸ˜‰

  3. Rachel says:

    Big Cheer for your DH! And congrats on your beautiful finish πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for your comment about my blanket in progress x

    Lovely finish very pretty, bet you cannot wait to frame it and put in pride of place to show it off!

    Keep up the good stitching.

  5. Cindy F. says:

    WOOHOO!!! CONGRATS and a HAPPY DANCE!! Your finish is absolutely beautiful!! Good job girl!

    Wow, thank goodness for your dh!! He did all that AND with a cold over the weekend!! Just think how much money that would have cost if you had to hire someone! Men like that are my heros….like my dh:)

    I love how you’ve instructed your sisters on selecting their men;) …lol… too funny!

  6. Judy says:

    Hey Maren!!

    Congratulations on finishing Our Special Day!! It
    looks fabulous and is a project to be truly proud
    of. The roses in this design just knock my socks
    off whenever I see them. They look so real! You
    really are a fast stitcher too. This project would
    have taken me many months to complete. Yeah, yeah
    I know you’ll say that it took you 12 years or more
    to stitch but I’m ignoring that.

    I had to laugh when I read about your sister’s ex-
    boyfriend who considered himself a handyman. Oh my!
    My dad was a plumber by profession but was also
    quite capable with electrical stuff, and with
    building stuff. Very handy to have around the house.
    Okay, there was the time he nearly set the house on
    fire while remodeling the kitchen…but other then
    that… When my parents moved from their house to a
    condo Dad was very much in demand to help their
    neighbours with fix ups and repairs. I think he loved
    being able to keep his skills sharp, doing odd jobs after he retired.

    Sorry to hear that you got a cold to remember your
    hubby by when he was gone again. That’s the down
    side to marriage, sharing germs. Hope you’re feeling
    better soon.

    Cheers!

  7. Berta says:

    Maren, Our Special Day is a beautiful finish. It’s meant to be a family heirloom.

Leave a Reply

