Bookmarks and Ice Storms

Daisypath Vacation Ticker

I have learned a very important fact about myself. Apparently, it takes a level of discipline that I just don’t have to stick to a rotation. I pretty much just pick up any old thing at the beginning of the day and today, instead of that thing being Christmas Flourishes, I started something new.

bookmark1

Fortunately, I also finished it too, otherwise it’d be just one more thing overflowing my WIP shelf. Bad Maren. I’ve really got to stop doing this.

It’s payday again, so I ordered the floss I’d need to do the Rose Lights and (sigh), yes, I am going to do it right. With all the (hideously, thievishly, irrationally, mind-bogglingly) expensive silk floss that the pattern calls for. I haven’t got the beads, but then I always bead last of all, so I’ve got time. Years and years worth of time, if I don’t stop starting all these projects.

**Stands up in front of the crowd** “Hi, my name is Maren and I’m a project-a-holic.”

Admitting it is the first step on the long road to recovery, after all.

And since I’ve already admitting that I have a problem, I’m sure you’ll all forgive me when I confess that I paid Jo-Ann Fabrics a visit this morning, picking up the threads I need to start my BP SAL design. It’s slated for tomorrow. I’m excited enough to do it now, except that my eyes are so tired they’re crossing.

It’s either off to bed with me now, or I’m just going to nod off onto my keyboard. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz-snort! Sorry. That was me with my nose on the button.

One quick prayer to those tens of thousands of people in the midwest who are without power tonight because of the ice storms and who aren’t even estimated to get their power reconnected for another 3 to 4 weeks! God bless the linemen working 16 hour shifts, 7 days a week (bet you can’t guess what my hubby does for a living), to get the heat back on for all those currently going without. Be safe, guys. And to everyone else, be warm.

6 Responses to Bookmarks and Ice Storms

  1. annmcd says:

    Meran,

    I would love to have the designer info on your beautiful Composer’s bookmark. I know just the person who would love it. Her partner is a musician and their two best friends are also musicians.
    We are all in the same boat as far as our addiction goes I think and I know what you mean about the rotation thing. I used one years ago and it worked great, so this year I am trying again. There are just too many in-progress projects in my work basket and I have to get some of them out of the way so I can start a whole bunch more. So far I have succeeded in following the rotation all of this month…we’ll see how long it lasts.

  2. Judy says:

    Hi Maren,

    I typed up a really wonderful comment for your
    last post. It was witty. It was lyrical. It
    was a comment for the ages!!!

    And then my finger spasm-ed and deleted the whole
    thing.

    So, today is a new day…and comment.

    I’m not one for rotations either. I can only
    stitch if I’m doing it for fun. If I start
    following a rotation my subconscious decides
    that I’m no longer having fun…I’m working.
    Then it starts to whine about having to stitch
    whatever is “up” for the rotation that day.

    So I stitch what I like as well. Just like
    you. But I’m keeping myself focused on the
    four projects that I have going now. Tonight
    was a bit more on the border for Wayward Garden.
    It’s one heck of a long border. Yeesh!!

    Loosing needles is a frustrating and sometimes
    worrisome business. I keep a strong magnet in
    my stitching box for just such an emergency.
    I worry that my cats might find the dropped
    needle and try to eat it so I make a concerted
    effort not to loose them at home. I’ve dropped
    a few while at work (on break of course) but
    with my trusty magnet I usually find them.

    Jaws is one of my most favourite movies. I guess
    that I’ve watched it about a half dozen or more
    times and I’m always riveted to my seat. I adore
    Roy Scheider too. He was always great in whatever
    he did.

    Boy, I admire you for having the patience to rip
    out all the stitching on Our Special Day to fix
    the errors. I would have been tempted to start
    the whole thing over again from scratch.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a
    comment. It’s nice to meet you.

    Cheers!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Hi Maren!

    I just jumped over here from you comment you left on my blog – THANK YOU! And it seems we have very similar taste in stitching! I was wandering thru your WIP list at the side and I have completed the “This house is protected by killer dust bunnies” and started LOL – no one else I’ve ever met has stitched that as well!

    Anyway, just wanted to say HELLO! And I can’t wait to see what you start next.

    Rebecca
    AKA – Rebel In Ontario

  4. Sue says:

    Your composer piece turned out wonderful. It is so unusual, I can’t remember seeing it before. Like you, I don’t do well with rotations. I’ve tried, but I like to pick up and work on whatever is calling to me at the moment. A rotation tends to feel a bit to much like “have to” or “should” stitching and not “want to” stitching, and I’ve never done to well at anything when I feel I have to do, some of the joy just seems to go away.

    Rose lights sounds like it will be gorgeous. Most times I go with good old DMC too, but some projects are worth the cost of the nicer fibers. Your Our Special Day WIP is looking beautiful. I can’t believe you had to rip all that work out, how frustrating.

    I’m sure everyone is appreciating how hard your DH and others are working to get the power back on. It amazes me when I see the crews out working so hard and long in such rotten weather to help get everyone back up and running. That takes a special kind of dedication. Hopefully it goes quicker than they anticipate and everyone’s power is back on soon. This sure has been a bitterly cold winter.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Oh, wanted to say I loved your earlier piece of If it walks out of the refridgerator let it go. It was great, I think I need something like that for my house. 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Thank you for your visit to my blog and your words of encouragement. You have many lovely projects going. I look forward to seeing Rose Lights.

  6. sandra says:

    Hi Maren,
    Thank you for your lovely comments on my blog. Sarah is now finished and all I have to do is frame her.
    I also don’t handle rotations very well. I find I am better to stick to just one sampler at a time. Occasionally I will have another one which I have at the moement, Beatrix Potter.
    I previously had 3, which is one of the reasons that I finished Sarah Moon. Only for the fact that I have joined the Beatrix Potter SAL I would sit down and finish her. But I am now doing a sampler that is a real challenge so it will be good to occasionally once or twice a month to work on something else.
    Your composer piece is lovely, as are the ones in your side bar. = take care = Sandra.

Leave a Reply

