Goals for 2009

I just stumbled across Hastur’s For the Love of the X blog page, which outline her goals for the new year. I thought that such a good idea that I decided to do the same. So, for posterity here is my List of Shame goals for 2009:

1.) Complete 25 Projects this year.
2.) Finish Christmas Flourishes
3.) Finish Our Special Day (12 years is long enough for any project)
4.) Learn Hardanger
5.) Start and Finish Rose Lights
6.) Start Taj Mahal Garden
7.) Clear every project off my current WIP shelf
8.) Clear 5 additional patterns out of my stash pile
9.) Join a SAL or Fair and Square
10.) Keep the blog current. πŸ™‚

Yay! Presents in the mail! The Royal Mail has arrived, bringing my Chatelaine patterns and my Rainbow Gallery floss. Now I can see what it’ll take to do my Rose Lights pattern and I’m having a miniature heart attack over the different kinds of floss that it calls for. I remember when DMC jumped up in price from $0.27 to $0.33 a skein, and my reaction then was to take three days and seriously consider just how much I really liked stitching.

Fortunately, I decided that shelling out an extra six cents per skein was a small enough price for me to pay to 1.) continue enjoying the pleasure of this little hobby and 2.) so that DMC employees could continue to eat. But this….? This pattern has 8 different floss brands and I’ve only heard of two of them: Anchor and Rainbow Gallery. DMC isn’t even on this chart, except for use as conversions and that sits right next to a disclaimer that reads, “We won’t hold a gun to your head, but if you don’t use the original materials, then don’t blame us when it doesn’t come out looking like the picture.”

Okay, I might have paraphrased that just a bit.

Anyway, here I am at my computer, I love the design and I do want the picture to turn out right. So I start looking up all these unfamiliar floss makers. I don’t kick up too much of a fuss at paying $0.95 for skeins of Eterna Silk Mini Twists, because hey. It’s silk. I’m not the most sophisticated person, but I do recognize that silk costs more than cotton. The Anchor Marlitt, Crescent Colours, Weeks Dye Works and Rainbow Gallery are all in the $2.00-$2.75 range and my feathers start to ruffle a bit, but okay, I can see that for hand-dyed floss. The more effort that goes into it, the more it ought to cost.

When I hit $3.40 a skein for ThreadworX, I start grumbling about certain European pattern makers maybe getting kickbacks to keep certain thread companies rolling in the $$$. I can’t even find Vikki Clayton Silk. And then I hit the Thread Gatherer silk floss wall.

I’m sure my sisters will be whispering for years about the Exorcist moment they witnessed out of me just now. $7.25 a skein?!?! Yes, it’s silk, but it’s not 24-carat gold silk spun from the butt of a diamond caterpillar! Can we not be reasonable about this?! Right now, my mental scale is tipping back and forth between “Does it really matter if my project doesn’t look exactly like the picture?” and “Do I want to pay $100 or more just for floss?”

You know, I had silk sheets once. I slid right out of bed twice and haven’t used them since.

Anyway, I’m going to think about it for a few days, but DMC is starting to look really good to me right now. Okay. I’m done having my temper tantrum now and am climbing down off my soapbox.

Before I go, here’s a little something I found in the very bottom of my stash this morning.

if-it-walks

I found a picture of this in a cross stitch magazine some 12 odd years ago and didn’t have the money to buy the pattern. So I just did the best I could using the picture and graph paper. If I knew the original author of the pattern I’d give them credit, but I don’t. The fabric isn’t dirty, it’s just in shadow. I’m off to finish my Cancer Awareness project. Night!

5 Responses to Goals for 2009

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving me a nice comment! i hear you about the floss for those projects i brought a Chatelaine chart a few years ago and was put of by the cost of all the materials and have not purchased one since although i love her designs.

  2. L. says:

    LOL – love the needlework!!! Cracks me up : )

  3. Kathy says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I just finished putting in the tree part of the American Baby piece. Still leaves to put on the tree. Had not seen this design before seeing on another blog and decided it was perfect for this baby present.

    Just read your blog about your husband being in Kansas. That is where I am too. Might be interesting to find that his job is close to where I am. My e-mail address is on my blog.

    You will find that once you start stitching with silk you will never want to go back to DMC. You will note on my blog that my stitching friends call me a “fiber snob”. I love working with silk.

  4. Barbara says:

    LOL!! Too funny. Vikki Clayton’s HDF silks can be found here: http://hand-dyedfibers.com/oscnuked/ and they really are a good deal for the $ outlay. Threadworx is a skein of 20 yards, rather than the usual 5 yds, to explain the price difference. But I am SO with you on the outrageous price for ThreadGatherer’s silks. They are insane. I’ve stitched with them, and I do not find them to be worth their price.

  5. Von says:

    I love my silks, but really agree with you about the price of Threadgatherer – that hurts toooo much! If you contact Vikki Clayton, she may be able to help you with a more reasonably priced substitute. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

